Ama Dablam ascent

Guide pour l'ascension de l'Ama Dablam
  • Next departure April 1, 2021
  • Group 4 to 6 participants
  • Length 31 days
  • Level Advanced
  • Lodging 5 nights in hotel in double occ. / 25 nights in camping
  • Price $13,500 *May vary based on US exchange rate

The ascent of Ama Dablam offers us to contemplate Everest and the Khumbu region at an altitude of about 6800 meters. Located not far from the highest peak in the world, this mountain is known as one of the greatest Himalayan technical alpine objective. Less crowded then his neighbors such as the Island Peak, this will give you the opportunity to apply your alpine techniques in a really aesthetic and aerial environment.

From the summit, or all the way up through the summit ridge, your eyes will admire the East of Nepal and the beautiful Honku valley. You will walk on a really aerial crest that will gives you the impression of flying above the Himalaya. This ascent is the outcome of a magnificent trek towards Everest basecamp and the Gokyo lake region.

Take up this challenge with certified mountain guides and a devoted local team!

HIGH ALTITUDE MOUNTAIN CLEANERS

In 2020, Attitude Montagne will be the official sponsor of the cleaning expedition that will take place on this mountain. A project that count more than 44 days, whose 18 days will be spend around 6000m to take down all the trash, take off the old ropes and installing new anchors. A real technical challenge that, hopefully, will change the way the industry and every alpinist climb mountains. For details visit our website.

Logistic

Lodging

The nights in Katmandu will be in 3 or 4 stars hotel depending on availability. We are going to be in lodges for the approach trek. From basecamp we are going to be sleeping in tents for the rest of the expedition.

Basecamp

We organize every aspect of the basecamp, tents, kitchen equipment, tables, chairs, communication and everything else! You only have to install your personal equipment. The only equipment you have to provide for yourself is a sleeping bag and sleeping pad (for altitude camps) because our local agency provides it for the basecamp along all you need to sleep well.

At basecamp, we have a system to recharge electronic device. We also have lights and a heater to warm up the kitchen tent!

Transport

From Katmandu, we gonna take a flight to Lukla which is the start of many Himalayan expeditions. For the trek to basecamp, we will have the service of local carrier and yaks for our equipment. We only carry a daypack to keep our strength for the ascent. You are responsible of your transport to Katmandu. Since we have a lot of equipment to carry from Quebec, we are going to separate it amongst the participants and guides before leaving.

Food

During our stay in Katmandu, we are going to eat in restaurants (not included). On the mountains, we will eat the very good meals that our cook makes for us. On the ascent, we will start to eat lyophilized food from ‘Col Camp’. You only have have to think about your own personnel favorite food : chocolate, candy, energy bar, powergel, etc.

Climbing equipment

We organize every group equipment; ropes, rock and snow protections, first aid kit, communications and other. You only have to provide personnel climbing equipment. A list will be provided.

 

 

 

 

 

Routes

Voie Arrête Sud-Ouest Ama Dablam au Népal
  • Mountain

    Ama Dablam

  • Altitude

    6856m

  • Route

    South-West ridge

  • Difficulty

    D, VI 6a 60°

  • Length

    About 10 days above basecamp

From basecamp at 4600 m, we need to ascend along grassy slopes and continue the climb that gets steeper until 5200 m. Between 5300 m and 5400, there is many possibilities to establish an advance basecamp. After, we continue the progression between big boulders which will stops around 5500 m at the bottom of slightly tilted slab that leads to camp 1 on 100 m.

From camp 1, we traverse a small pass and then descend for a short distance. We continue to some steeper scramble and slab traverse (5,5) to access the ridge that will lead us to the bottom of the Yellow tower. After climbing the Yellow tower (5,7) we meet the location of camp 2 a little higher at 6000 m.

From camp 2, we continue on the ridge until the base of a rocky outcrop that we will get around and climb some really steep mixed climbing pitches. We will then join the bottom of the grey tower and climb 2 pitches that leads to the mushroom ridge. We will follow the ridge into some steep outcrop (sections at 60-70˚) to end up on the glacier and camp 3 at about 6 300m.

From camp 3, we will climb the steep face to the right of the big serac and then continue through the summit slopes and the ice flutes (40˚-60˚) all the way to the summit.

  • Next departure April 1, 2021
  • Group 4 to 6 participants
  • Length 31 days
  • Level Advanced
  • Lodging 5 nights in hotel in double occ. / 25 nights in camping
  • Price $13,500 *May vary based on US exchange rate

Inclusions

  • Training program
  • Ascent permit
  • Flights to Lukla
  • Land transport
  • Hotel accommodation
  • Mountain meals
  • Collective climbing gear
  • Supervision by a certified climbing guide from Quebec
  • Applicable taxes

Exclusions

  • Airfare
  • Personal expenses
  • Meals in town (in Nepal and on transport)
  • Travel insurance
  • Personal climbing gear
  • Gratuities for the guide and local team
  • Extra not planned in the trip (evacuation costs, etc.)
  • Customer contribution to the Fonds d'indemnisation des clients d'agents de voyages if applicable is not included ($1 per $1000 purchase)
  • Day

    Details

  • 1-2

    Flight to Katmandu

  • 3

    Day in Katmandu, touristic visit

  • 4

    Flight to Lukla and trek to Phakding

  • 5

    Trek to Namche Bazaar

  • 6

    Acclimatization day in Namche Bazaar

  • 7

    Trek de Namche to Thyanboche monastery

  • 8

    Trek from Thyanboche to Dingboche

  • 9

    Trek to Chhukkung and ascent of Chhukkung Ri (5550m)

  • 10

    Ama Dablam basecamp arrival

  • 11-25

    Climbing period

  • 26-27

    Trek back to Lukla

  • 28

    Flight Lukla to Katmandu

  • 29

    Day in Katmandu

  • 30

    Day in Katmandu

  • 31

    Flight back

Registration

Ascension de l’Ama Dablam

Guide pour l'ascension de l'Ama Dablam
  • Prochain départ 1 avril 2021
  • Groupe 4 à 6 participants
  • Durée 31 jours
  • Niveau Avancé
  • Hébergement 5 nuits en hôtel / 25 nuits en camping
  • Prix 13 500 $ *peut varier en fonction de taux US

 

Contempler l’Everest et la région du Khumbu à plus de 6 800 mètres d’altitude, c’est ce que nous offre l’ascension de l’Ama Dablam Situées à quelques dizaines de kilomètres du toit du monde, cette montagne est un des graal de l’alpinisme technique au Népal et dans le monde des hauts sommets de l’Himalaya. Moins achalandé que ses voisins dû a sa difficulté, ça vous permettra de mettre en application vos techniques d’alpinisme dans un cadre très esthétique et aérien.

Du haut du sommet, ou tout au long de l’arrête sommitale, vos yeux porterons vers l’est du Népal et sur la magnifique vallée de l’Honku en plus de vous faire marcher sur une crète sommitale très aérienne en ailant l’impression de voler au dessus de l’Himalaya! Cette ascension sera l’aboutissement d’un magnifique trek vers le camp de base de l’Everest et la région des lacs Gokyo.

Relevez le defi avec des guides montagne certifiés et une équipe locale chaleureuse et dévouée !

HIGH ALTITUDE MOUNTAIN CLEANERS

En 2020 Attitude Montagne sera le commanditaire officiel de l’expédition de nettoyage qui sera réalisée sur cette montagne. Un projet de plus 44 jours , dont 18 seront passés autour de 6000m à retirer les déchets et les cordes abandonnées ainsi qu’à percer des trous afin d’installer de nouveaux ancrages. Tout un défi technique et logistique, qui on l’espère, changera la façon donc notre industrie et les alpinistes graviront les montagnes dans l’avenir. Pour plus détails visitez le site web

La Logistique

Hébergement

Nous passerons les nuits à Katmandou à l’hôtel 3 ou 4 étoiles selon la disponibilité. Pour le trek nous serons en lodge. À partir du camp de base nous dormirons exclusivement en tente.

Camp de base

Nous nous occupons de toute la logistique du camp de base, que ce soit pour les tentes, l’équipement de cuisine, les tables, chaises, les communications et autres. Vous n’aurez qu’à vous occuper d’installer vos effets personnels. La seule chose que vous devez fournir, est votre équipement personnel, sac de couchage, matelas de sol (pour les camp d’altitude) puisque notre agence locale s’occupe de ceux au campe base et tout ce dont vous avez besoin pour dormir.

Nous avons aussi un système de recharge électrique, de la lumière et oui du chauffage pour la tente cuisine.

Transport

À partir de Katmandou nous prendrons un vol local pour Lukla, départ de la majorité des expéditions himalayennes. Pour le trek jusqu’au camp de base, nous utiliserons les services de yaks et de porteurs qui transporterons notre équipement. Nous n’aurons que nos sacs de jour à transporter afin de garder nos forces pour l’ascension. Vous êtes responsable de votre transport jusqu’à Katmandou. Comme nous avons beaucoup d’équipement à transporter, nous partagerons celui-ci entre les différents participants et guides.

Nourriture

Lors de séjour en ville, nous mangerons au restaurant soit en ville ou à celui de l’hôtel (prix non-inclus). Lors du séjour en montagne nous auront la chance de déguster les succulents plats que notre cuisiner nous concoctera. Lors de l’ascension et ce à partir du ‘col camp’ nous mangerons de la nourriture lyophilisées. Vous n’avez donc qu’à vous occuper de vos petits plaisirs : chocolats, bonbons, barres énergétiques, powergel, etc.

Équipement d’escalade

Nous nous occupons de tout l’équipement collectif : cordes, protections de roche ou de neige, trousses de premiers soins, communications et autres. Vous n’avez qu’à fournir votre équipement de grimpe personnel. Une liste vous sera fournie.

 

Les voies

Voie Arrête Sud-Ouest Ama Dablam au Népal
  • Montagne

    Ama Dablam

  • Altitude

    6856 m

  • Voie

    Arrête Sud-ouest

  • Difficulté

    D, VI 6a 60°

  • Durée

    10 jours environ au dessus du camp de base

Depuis le camp de base 4 600 m, il faut remonter le long de pentes herbeuses et poursuivre la montée qui devient un peu plus raide jusque vers 5 200 m. Entre 5 300 m et 5 400 m il y a de nombreux emplacements possible pour établir un camp de base avancé. On continue ensuite entre de gros blocs qui se terminent vers 5 500 m et 5 600 m. au pied de dalle faiblement inclinée qui montent au camp 1 sur environ 100 m.

Du camp 1, nous passons un petit col et redescend de quelques dizaines de mètres. Nous Poursuivons par quelques ressauts plus raides et des traversées en dalle (5,5) afin de rejoindre l’arête qui nous mène au pied de la tour jaune. Nous gravissons la tour jaune (5,7) qui permet de sortir à nouveau sur l’arête pour rejoindre l’emplacement du camp 2 vers 6 000 m.

Du camp 2, nous continuons sur l’arrête jusqu’à la base d’un ressaut rocheux que nous contournons pour gravir quelques longueurs de mixte très raides. Nous rejoignons alors la base de la tour grise et réalisons 2 longueurs pour rejoindre l’arête aux champignons. Nous empruntons l’arête qui comprend quelques ressauts raides (sections à 60°-70°) pour sortir sur le glacier et le camp 3, vers 6 300 m.

Du camp 3 Nous remontons la pente de glace raide à droite du grand sérac en le franchisant par les rochers et continuons sur la pente sommitale et les Ice flutes jusqu’au sommet (40°-60°).

  • Prochain départ 1 avril 2021
  • Groupe 4 à 6 participants
  • Durée 31 jours
  • Niveau Avancé
  • Hébergement 5 nuits en hôtel / 25 nuits en camping
  • Prix 13 500 $ *peut varier en fonction de taux US
  • Jour

    Détails

  • 1-2

    Vol depuis votre ville d'origine/Katmandu

  • 3

    Journée de visite à Katmandu.

  • 4

    Vol vers Lukla et trek jusqu’à Phakding.

  • 5

    Trek jusqu’à Namche Bazaar.

  • 6

    Journée d’acclimatation à Namche Bazaar.

  • 7

    Trek de Namche au monastère Thyanboche.

  • 8

    Trek de Thyanboche à Dingboche.

  • 9

    Trek to Chhukkung et Ascension du Chhukkung Ri (5550 m).

  • 10

    Arrivé au camp de base de l’Ama Dablam.

  • 11-25

    Période réservé à l’ascension de l’Ama Dablam.

  • 26-27

    Trek de retour jusqu’à Lukla.

  • 28

    Vol de Lukla vers Katmandu.

  • 29

    Journée à Katmandu.

  • 30

    Journée à Katmandu.

  • 31

    Départ vers votre ville d’origine.

Inscription